The eVISA for Ethiopia

The eVISA for Ethiopia is an electronic travel authorization issued by the government of Ethiopia. The eVisa is an entry requirement to travel to and within Ethiopia. The Ethiopian eVISA is for touristic or family visit purposes.

Visitors who enter Ethiopia for tourism are required to present a valid eVISA at the port of entry.

passport example

Entry Specifications for Ethiopian eVISA, Length of Authorized Stay and Validity

The Ethiopian eVISA is a single-entry visa that authorizes entry into Ethiopia for thirty (30) or ninety (90) days depending on the applicant's selection.

Passport guidelines for the Ethiopian eVISA

The traveler’s passport must be valid for at least (6) months from arrival date in Ethiopia.

Entry Ports for Ethiopia

Approved eVISA holders can enter Ethiopia via Bole International Airport in Addis Adaba.

Eligible countries

Citizens of all countries with his/her residence in one of the countries listed below are eligible for an Ethiopian e-VISA, including the United States, United Kingdom, China, Germany, Italy and Kenya.

Afghanistan Aland Islands Albania Algeria American Samoa
Andorra Angola Anguilla Antarctica Antigua and Barbuda
Argentina Armenia Aruba Australia Austria
Azerbaijan Bahamas Bahrain Bangladesh Barbados
Belarus Belgium Belize Benin Bermuda
Bhutan Bolivia Bonaire, Saint Eustatius and Saba Bosnia and Herzegovina Botswana
Brazil British Indian Ocean Territory Brunei Darussalam Bulgaria Burkina Faso
Burundi Canada Cape Verde Cayman Islands Central African Republic
Chad Chile China Christmas Island Cocos (Keeling) Islands
Colombia Comoros Congo Congo, The Democratic Republic of the Cook Islands
Costa Rica Croatia Cuba Curacao Czech Republic
Denmark Djibouti Dominica Dominican Republic Ecuador
Egypt El Salvador Equatorial Guinea Eritrea Estonia
Falkland Islands (Malvinas) Faroe Islands Fiji Finland France
French Guiana French Polynesia Gabon Gambia Georgia
Germany Ghana Gibraltar Greece Greenland
Grenada Guadeloupe Guam Guatemala Guinea
Guinea-Bissau Guyana Haiti Honduras Hungary
Iceland India Indonesia Iran, Islamic Republic of Iraq
Ireland Israel Italy Jamaica Japan
Jersey Jordan Kazakhstan Kenya Kiribati
Korea North Korea South Kuwait Kyrgyzstan Lao People's Democratic Republic
Latvia Lebanon Lesotho Liberia Libya
Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Macau Macedonia
Madagascar Malawi Malaysia Maldives Mali
Malta Marshall Islands Martinique Mauritania Mauritius
Mayotte Mexico Micronesia, Federated States of Moldova, Republic of Monaco
Mongolia Montenegro Montserrat Morocco Mozambique
Myanmar Namibia Nauru Nepal Netherlands
New Caledonia New Zealand Nicaragua Niger Nigeria
Niue Norfolk Island Northern Mariana Islands Norway Oman
Palau Palestinian Territory Panama Papua New Guinea Paraguay
Peru Philippines Pitcairn Islands Poland Portugal
Puerto Rico Qatar Republic of Cyprus Reunion Romania
Russian Federation Rwanda Saint Barthelemy Saint Helena Saint Kitts and Nevis
Saint Lucia Saint Pierre and Miquelon Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Samoa San Marino
Sao Tome and Principe Saudi Arabia Senegal Serbia Seychelles
Sierra Leone Singapore Sint Maarten (Dutch part) Slovakia Slovenia
Solomon Islands Somalia South Africa South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands South Sudan
Spain Sri Lanka Sudan Suriname Svalbard and Jan Mayen
Swaziland Sweden Switzerland Tajikistan Tanzania, United Republic of
Thailand Timor-Leste Togo Tokelau Tonga
Trinidad and Tobago Tunisia Turkey Turkmenistan Turks and Caicos Islands
Tuvalu Uganda Ukraine United Arab Emirates United Kingdom
United States Uruguay Uzbekistan Vanuatu Vatican City
Venezuela Vietnam Virgin Islands, British Virgin Islands, U.S. Wallis and Futuna
Zambia Zimbabwe

The Ethiopian Government is constantly adding new countries to this list. If your country of Residence country is not mentioned in the below list, you will need to contact your nearest embassy or consulate.

All travelers who possess a valid passport can submit their Ethiopia eVISA application online here.

Additional evidence requirements:

When you apply, you only need your passport information. If your application requires more documentation, you can provide it later on.

Checkpoint Requirements to Enter Ethiopia

All visitors that have an approved eVISA must present the following documents upon arrival at the Ethiopian port of entry:

Verify Ethiopian eVISA status

Ethiopia eVISA applicants will get updates and notifications via email regarding the status of their application. When it is completed and approved, the eVISA will be sent directly via email to the applicant.

Check the status of your application here.

Application for the Ethiopian eVISA

To request an eVISA for Ethiopia, visitors are required to have a valid passport, credit card, and email address.

Please note that the information provided in the online eVisa application, including your name, date and place of birth, address, sex, nationality, and passport number, must appear exactly as shown on the passport or other appropriate travel document.

To apply for an Ethiopian eVISA, visitors can submit their online eVISA application here.

By using our website you accept our Cookies Policy. Click here to know more. I agree